Opiniones de PracticePanther Legal Software

PracticePanther Legal Software

4,7 (507)
¡Escribe una reseña!
Software fácil de usar para bufetes de abogados, asistentes jurídicos y letrados.

Calificación general

4,7 /5
(507)
Relación calidad-precio
4,6/5
Funciones
4,5/5
Facilidad de uso
4,6/5
Asistencia al cliente
4,6/5

92%
Un ha recomendado esta aplicación
Ordenar por

Opiniones de 507

Carlota
Carlota
Calificación general
  • Sector: Marketing y publicidad
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Prueba gratis
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Una buena herramienta para facturacion y gestion de horarios.

Revisado el 23/4/2023

Nuestra experiencia general con este sofwtare fue bastante positiva, lo utilizamos como software de...

Nuestra experiencia general con este sofwtare fue bastante positiva, lo utilizamos como software de facturacion y gestion de horarios en nuestra empresa, y lo estuvimos probando durante un tiempo, pero al final nos decantamos por otra alternativa, ya que nos resultaba algo caro para nuestra pequeña empresa. El software en si, funcionaba perfectamente, nos facilito mucho a la hora de facturar ya que era muy sencillo y simplemente se podia hacer con un click. Si necesitas un software de facturacion para una empresa de gran tamaño, lo recomiendo con los ojos cerrados.

Puntos a favor

Lo que mas nos ha gustado de este software es que es muy facil de usar e intuitivo, tambien nos ha gustado mucho que tiene una gran cantidad de caracteristicas y se complementa con otras herramientas, como mailchimp. Nos ha gustado mucho que lo podamos utilizar desde cualquir dispositivo, gracias a que es un sofware online.

Puntos en contra

Podria ser un poco mas economica, ya que para empresas con poca facturacion puede ser algo cara, y ademas otro punto que no nos ha gustado ha sido la tardanza del equipo de atencion al cliente para contestar dudas y/ o problemas.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Alimentación y bebidas
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Muy buena herramienta de practicas legales y gestion del tiempo

Revisado el 28/2/2023

Aplicacion muy practica, con diversidad funcional y mucha practicidad, vale la pena al menos...

Aplicacion muy practica, con diversidad funcional y mucha practicidad, vale la pena al menos probrarla porque te ahorrara bastante tiempo y de ese modo puedes valorar si te merece la pena pagar lo que cuesta o no.

Puntos a favor

Es software bastante completo e intuitivo ( siempre que te dediques a esto), con muchisimas posibilidades y funciones y facilidades, como por ejemplo, facilidad de pago con tarjeta o cheques, asignacion automaticas de tareas para ahorrar tiempo, almacenamiento en la nube, seguimiento del tiempo y de los gatos facturables en tiempo real....y alguna cosa mas.Muy practica la verdad.

Puntos en contra

El precio es el unico pero que le pondrias ya que la version mas basica se queda corta para una mediana empresa.Para una empresa con un flujo de datos medio necesitaria la version intermedio que ya equivaldria a pagar unos 70 euros al mes por usuario.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hospital y atención sanitaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Prueba gratis
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Buena herramienta para la comunicacion con clientes y gestiones legales

Revisado el 27/2/2023

En general, satisfecho con su uso...cierto que es un poco caro, pero pocos programas ahora mismo...

En general, satisfecho con su uso...cierto que es un poco caro, pero pocos programas ahora mismo ofrecen tal diversidad de funciones y facilidades como este.

Puntos a favor

Lo que mas me gusta del programa son la cantidad de funciones que ofrece, como pagos en linea con multitud de opciones, flujos de trabajo automatizados que te ahorran un monton de tiempo, copias de seguridad a tiempo real de todos los datos, seguimiento del tiempo facturable desde cualquier dispositivo y por supuesto tener todas tus finanzas controladas para evitarte mas de un susto....aplicacion muy completa

Puntos en contra

La unica desventaja que veo podria ser el precio... El plan mas basico se queda demasiado corto para cualquiera que necesite de este programa, y si optas por el plan intermedio y tu o tu empresa no manejais un flujo de datos demasiado grande, pagareis por demas, tanto como 80 euros al mes.Bien es cierto, que no he encontrado muchos programas con tal nivel de funcionalidad.

jose
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios financieros
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Practice

Revisado el 3/11/2022

Puntos a favor

Muy bueno,realmente agil y rapido en todo.

Puntos en contra

Tendria que ser menos costoso y tener otras alternativas

Stephanie
Stephanie
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Solo Practice Law Firm

Revisado el 29/10/2018

Practice Panther has been great with helping me stay on track with my QuickBooks accounting; and...

Practice Panther has been great with helping me stay on track with my QuickBooks accounting; and staying organized with client files. As a solo practitioner, it was important for me to be able to do all things necessary to maintain a viable business, and perform at a peak level for my clients while juggling every hat. Practice Panther has exceeded my expectations.

Puntos a favor

Ease of use, and tutorials that allowed me to quickly gain the requisite knowledge for utilizing each feature were absolutely critical to starting my law firm. One of the greatest assets to Practice Panther is its amazing team. I love the one on one trainings, and how many of the features I had questions about were already on the agenda for discussion (provided by the team member conducting the training ahead of time). Thus, saving me time, and only needing me to add additional ones, if necessary. I love the tutorials, templates, pop ups, and live chat features. Live chats have been so helpful in a pinch when I encounter a new challenge with things like linking two client matters together. I love how links to possible video tutorials pop up, while I am waiting for a team member to reply, to see if my question can be answered with one of the step by step videos . I use those videos for future references all the time.

Puntos en contra

There is nothing I do not like about the software. I only had one hiccup with syncing the LawPay feature with Practice Panther, and one of my client's could not submit their credit card payment online. There was an additional step after your LawPay account is approved, and you must go into your Practice Panther account settings to select the banking accounts that you want to use with LawPay. There were no instructions for this step in the process. However, this appeared to be more of a LawPay issue due to the 3 day time delay for approving the LawPay account. Because Practice Panther is so easy to use, I was actually able to figure out where the problem was, and get my client's payment through within a few minutes. Both Practice Panther and LawPay were quick on responding to the issue, and did an amazing job.

Joseph
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

PracticePanther Integrations with Key software is a great advantage

Revisado el 28/2/2023

I am very pleased with PracticePanther. Very easy to use. Does what we need.

I am very pleased with PracticePanther. Very easy to use. Does what we need.

Puntos a favor

Integration with quickbooks and the ability to take credit card payments through PP helps make collections and billing work well with all team members being able to take payments without needing all of them to be able to get into quickbooks.

Puntos en contra

Having restart searches for contacts or matters when we did not find the one we were looking for i.e. multiple persons with same name. and having to search again. Would like to be able to have reporting using matter type. Being able to customize reports would be great. Some reports show graphs but are hard to get the information ranked like the graph

Michael
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 5.0 /10

After years of begging them for real fixed price billing, I'm giving up.

Revisado el 2/6/2018

It was a good start to law firm management, now I need something that works like a law firm needs...

It was a good start to law firm management, now I need something that works like a law firm needs to work, not force my law firm to work like the software wants me to.

Puntos a favor

It's easy to learn the basics. The calendar is good, it's helpful that they show tasks there. Searching is great. It's totally adequate if all you do is bill for time and integrate with Quickbooks.

Puntos en contra

Panther has no report on Items (e.g. how much of your revenue is from Document Drafting vs Litigation). To get such a report, you MUST integrate with Quickbooks. But the biggest problem is that Fixed Price billing (what they call "Flat Fee") is worthless.

Fixed Price billing was clearly an afterthought, and their implementation has not changed at all since the early days when I started using it: 1) It does not let you assign an Item as you can with time entries, so you can't easily tell Quickbooks that a Fixed Price invoice was for a trademark application, not doc review; 2) You can't assign a lawyer to a Fixed Price billing, so you cannot get a report to help you pay everyone proportionally to their Fixed Price billings; 3) Fixed Price matters become immediately billable even if no work has been done, so you must manually keep track of when it's time to invoice for a Fixed Price matter, and there's no report on billable Fixed Price matters; 4) When entering time on a Fixed Price matter, there's way no way to check whether you are about to exceed the budget, and no way anywhere to compare budgeted vs actual.

If you're a modern firm moving to fixed price as much as possible, you'll spend a LOT of time looking for work-arounds, and you'll find that implementing your work-arounds will chew up any time saving you might have gotten from using the rest of the software.

I can't wait to change to software that does Fixed Price right.

Respuesta de Paradigm

Hey Michael, thank you so much for you feedback. I just wanted to let you know that based on the feedback of our users, yourself included, we have implemented a NEW FLAT FEE pricing option. We are the ONLY ones in the market to offer this function! We understand that the needs of our firms are constantly evolving and we value the suggestions and feedback of all of our users.

You can check out the guide published by our training department here:

https://support.practicepanther.com/contacts-and-matters/getting-started/flat-fees-tutorial

Furthermore, visit our updates page for past and future releases.

https://www.practicepanther.com/law-firm-practice-management-software/

Thanks for being a valued customer from the beginning!

Timothy
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Best Legal Practice Software on the Market

Revisado el 24/4/2024

Excellent. I used another competition at a different firm (LEAP) and this blows it away!

Excellent. I used another competition at a different firm (LEAP) and this blows it away!

Puntos a favor

Ease of use and integration of one drive.

Puntos en contra

Occasionally i have trouble with some features like uploading documents for signatures. I would also like to see the subject line change to the law firms name when sendign docs for signatures instead of manually having to change it each time.

Lane
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Changed my business

Revisado el 28/2/2023

Generally has been a good experience.

Generally has been a good experience.

Puntos a favor

Calendar and billing features are most helpful

Puntos en contra

Would like a better accounting plaform that makes it easier to reconcile and track transactions, as well as better integration with quickbooks.

Alternativas consideradas

Clio

Razones para elegir PracticePanther Legal Software

Ababus was too dated and cumbersome a platform.

Software anterior

AbacusLaw

Razones para cambiar a PracticePanther Legal Software

Ease of use
Hugh
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 0.0 /10

good interface, terrible billing if you have more than 5 clients, and terrible reporting suite

Revisado el 2/11/2020

average.

average.

Puntos a favor

clients like the interface, auto posting of lawpay and accounts for trust versus other payments with ease.

Puntos en contra

The billing every month is SO PAINFUL. To review bills or edit them, you have to open every invoice in a separate window. There is no "next" button to review invoices like every other billing platform out there. When asked about adding this, the response from PP is they will check with the development team. Clearly their developers didnt actually try out invoice review/edits for more than a few clients at a time. This is not a good solution if you have more than 5 clients. The task management also doesnt send notifications to all those tagged in the tasks, and if you assign tasks but are not the one assigned to do them, you cant track the progress. So we are using Asana instead so now using two platforms instead of one integrated solution.

Respuesta de Paradigm

Hi Hugh,

Thank you so much for your review, I can see how this would be helpful. Ease of use stands at the top of our priority list, so we always appreciate feedback from our users. We've received your request for this feature and the development team has been notified. Thanks again for your time, please feel free to reach out to us if there is anything we can help you with.

Leslie
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios jurídicos
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Old Dogs Can Learn New Tricks

Revisado el 28/2/2023

Puntos a favor

Having tried different types of practice management software and billing systems, finding PracticePanther changed this skeptical old dog by teaching her new tricks to make life easier and assure time gets captured and billed and contacts are at your fingertips. PracticePanther works seamlessly across all platforms, desktop, laptop, iPhone, iPad so you never have to be without the tools to have your law firm with you when you need to have the information. Easier to use than most software of similar types.

Puntos en contra

Not much to say here .. it works for us very well

Alternativas consideradas

Bill4Time

Razones para elegir PracticePanther Legal Software

New hire brought PracticePanther to us and we never looked back

Razones para cambiar a PracticePanther Legal Software

Comprehensive, easy to use, works on all platforms (it travels where you go)
Tobechuku
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Sole Practitioner That Needed Organization

Revisado el 5/8/2020

I love it and I love all the possible intergrations.

I love it and I love all the possible intergrations.

Puntos a favor

Helps me manage my solo practice all by myself. My clients are satisfied with their client portal and ability to send me messages.

Puntos en contra

I would like to be able to make payment plan invoices for my clients, so I do not have to remind them to pay every month. Most clients would not want to set up automatic payments, so with payment plan invoices, it would help alot and relieve the burden of reminding clients every month, that a payment needs to be made.

Alternativas consideradas

MyCase y Clio

Razones para elegir PracticePanther Legal Software

Product deleted some of my info and there was no one to help.

Razones para cambiar a PracticePanther Legal Software

The many possible integrations and ease of use.
Eric
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios jurídicos
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

One of the best general purpose case management programs

Revisado el 21/2/2023

Overall, my experience was quite positive. The company has great customer support, which makes...

Overall, my experience was quite positive. The company has great customer support, which makes using the product that much better. The reason I switched to another product was due to the evolving needs of my firm. I think if you are looking for an easy-to-use product that works without a lot of training, and is a one-size-fits-all kind of solution, you cannot go wrong with this product.

Puntos a favor

Practice Panther has two features I really like. First, the design of the software makes it easy to work with. Second, it comes ready to use "out of the box," with very little learning curve required.

Puntos en contra

Practice Panther is for generalists, in my opinion. If you are an estate planner, you can use it. Family law, no problem. Real estate law, you can't go wrong. However, if you want specialized features unique to a particular practice area, then Practice Panther is probably not going to suit your needs. I switched from it because I needed software that was tailored specifically to personal injury.

Alternativas consideradas

AbacusLaw y Clio

Razones para cambiar a PracticePanther Legal Software

As I recall, Practice Panther was more affordable than Abacus, and I liked the design of the product better than Clio.
Noah
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Amazing Software

Revisado el 25/1/2022

Fantastic experience. We started on the lowest pricing tier (which already comes with 90% of what...

Fantastic experience. We started on the lowest pricing tier (which already comes with 90% of what you need) and as our practice grew and we wanted to add some additional efficiencies (like automating through Zapier and ToDoist, etc.), we slowly grew to the highest tier, which adds a lot more integration. Also, their customer service is great.

Puntos a favor

Being able to integrate all of the features expected of a legal management software in one, but in such a intuitive way.

Puntos en contra

Nothing. I am very happy with it. We've been using it for 2 years and they keep adding great additional features as we and other request them, but its still not clunky.

Alternativas consideradas

Clio

Razones para cambiar a PracticePanther Legal Software

We tested other products including Clio and MyCase and decided with Practicepanther. Its been great.
Patricia
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Best integration with Office 365

Revisado el 6/6/2019

Everything we need is here, trust accounting, case reporting, financial reporting, customizable...

Everything we need is here, trust accounting, case reporting, financial reporting, customizable fields, document automation, etc.

Puntos a favor

Practice Panther out performs on integration with Outlook. Users can send email from within the platform and the email will send in outlook, as well as be saved in the PP file. Similarly, emails that are received can be added by a drag and drop that resides on the Outlook side.

It also has better document automation and work flows than the competitive products.

Puntos en contra

The dash board at the matter level could be better. All of the information is there, but one has to move from tab to tab to find it. I'd like a "status" feed at the top (with the ability to generate reports for all open matters and current status) instead of the feed that is at the bottom of the case dashboard (which we don't seem to use).

Razones para cambiar a PracticePanther Legal Software

Pricing, ease of use, and Office Integration.
Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 0.0 /10

Missed the boat

Revisado el 8/8/2019

It’s got a long way to go to meet the expectations of a multi attorney practice.

It’s got a long way to go to meet the expectations of a multi attorney practice.

Puntos a favor

The software sure does “look” nice. But it really missed the boat on some of the more nuanced features of a law practice. For example, when applying a discount to an invoice, the discount must be applied to the total invoice (fees AND costs). Discounts cannot be applied to just the fees. Why in the world would any attorney want to apply a discount to client costs advanced on behalf of the client??? When I inquired about this, their answer was “just put in a discounted custom rate for the matter”. This response is completely unacceptable since I may only want to apply a discount to one invoice rather than all work done on the matter! This is just one small example of the half hearted attempt of this company to make a legal management software. This is just one of several problems with the “features” of the software. The timers are always so buggy. The software is just not refined at all. None of the features were well thought out. It’s like the programmers decided “Hey! This is a cool feature to add!” But never really fined tuned any of them to a fully functioning feature that could work well. They all sort of work to only about 50-60 percent functionality. It should not come as any surprise, though, since neither the founders nor anyone else on the management team has any experience in the legal industry. The company would be well served to hire some actual attorneys to advise them on how to fine tune their software to make it a truly great legal software.

Puntos en contra

The lack of any real understanding of the nuances of a legal practice by the founders and creators of the company and software.

Respuesta de Paradigm

Hello! We really appreciate your feedback and understand your concern. Over the years, we've focused every effort to make a great Legal product for many specialty Law firms but of course there's always room to grow. It would be great to get on a call and go over any specific issues you are having with PracticePanther and of course to log any further feedback you may have. Please feel free to reach out anytime, and we'd be more than happy to assist you.

Christopher
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Practice Panther is a Great Cloud Solution for Solo Practitioners

Revisado el 18/9/2020

I still had an excellent experience. I suspect that in time PracticePanther will address these...

I still had an excellent experience. I suspect that in time PracticePanther will address these issues and I will gladly give it a 5-Star rating.

Puntos a favor

Practice Panther has a fairly intuitive interface for daily billing entries, templates for monthly billing and accounting for your trust and operating accounts for your clients. The learning curve was minimal in comparison to other systems I tried and the program was more responsive over other programs I tried over the internet. Tech Support and help files are easily available on every page. I found daily entries both fast and easy and the online billing system linked with LawPay is magnificent and has worked flawlessly for me. I was very skeptical of "secure" cloud-based billing and accounting but after more than a year it would take a lot to pull me away from Practice Panther.

Puntos en contra

There are two cons to this software to be aware of. First, there is no single backup system to backup and restore all your files with just a few clicks. While complete backup is available, it requires you to go through far too many steps to make sure you back up everything. I have not yet had to restore anything to Practice Panther but I am wary that a system that requires multiple steps could have glitches in trying to restore from their backups. It is more than possible that if a restoration were required it might involve more "downtime" for a practitioner than he or she would like in order to get back up and running. This is where I think they need to most work. Secondarily, their billing review system has an issue that will throw practitioners off. If you create a bill several months ago and you go back to look at the bill to see what the retainer balance was at the time of that bill, the historical bill actually pulls up the retainer that exists now. That should not occur on a historical bill. Once a bill has been saved, the bill should not change unless you intentionally change other things in your billing. An old bill should never show the current balance of the retainer. It should show the remaining balance of the retainer at the time the specific bill is generated.

Zach
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Easy to use practice management software with top-end functionality at low price

Revisado el 3/5/2018

Easy of keeping track of deadlines and client contacts. Overall, the best practice management...

Easy of keeping track of deadlines and client contacts. Overall, the best practice management software I have seen for the price. I would say this performs better than CLIO (I've used it with ALL of the add-ons), way better than AMICUS and MyCase and similar to ABACUS. They need to add a matter pre-billing function to run attorney's fees reports and allow you to copy/paste e-mails into the matter, but otherwise this is a perfect solution for most practitioners. Unless you are using the rules-based calendaring in ABACUS or Westlaw's Firm Central, I have not seen a product that is nearly as useful on the market.

Puntos a favor

Unlike a number of the cheaper practice management software programs on the market today, Practice Panther has a wide range of functions within the software which are easy to use. Instead of just having "Tasks" or "to-dos", PP allows you to create Activities which can be "Events" "E-mails" "Phone calls" or "Tasks". On the Task front, PP allows you to set sub-reminders that can send you e-mails or text messages in advance, like say "7 days before," and "3 days before," for a filing deadline. I also think it is pretty fantastic that PP shows whether a time entry has been completed for EVERY SINGLE ACTIVITY marked "completed" or "in progress". This would be incredibly useful for practitioners (mostly civil) managing staff and trying to deal with staff not accounting for all of their time in billing. The "mail sync" function is also easy to use, and allows you to e-mail out of your native software (MS Outlook, GMAIL, etc) and simply "bcc" the client matter itself. When you do this, the e-mail is automatically saved into the matter. Almost every other program out there that I have used requires you to use their client messaging portal to get the same functionality.

The templates are easy to use for creating documents to merge out of PP also. Think client engagement letters, releases, and basic letterheads that you use in every file. We don't use PP for accepting payments so I cannot comment on that portion.

Puntos en contra

1. Matter pre-bills or invoicing. In many civil cases there will be a time when you need to prepare a billing report to present to the court solely for a claim of attorney's fees. In other software that I have used, you can run a report for a set period of time or type of billing entries which will then create a printable draft invoice-looking document. You would then be able to slap an exhibit sticker on that document and use it for your attorney's fee request. I haven't found a way to easily do this in PP yet, and it seems like you would have to utilize a draft invoice which captures all time billed in the matter. I could be wrong.

2. No Batch Entry System for E-mails. PP has a GREAT syncing system that works with your native e-mail so you can BCC messages into the matter when you send or receive them. However, if you forget to include the mail-sync in your BCC line, or don't forward a message to the mail-sync, there is no easy way to subsequently get the e-mails into the matter in PP. What I mean is this: say you have a number of e-mails from someone that weren't saved into a client PP matter and instead lived in your Outlook before the client actually hired. You would have to manually forward each one of your emails to the mail-sync to get them into PP.

Additionally, if you are a federal criminal lawyer and use CORRLINKS to communicate with your clients you will know that you can't forward out of that system. PP doesn't let you copy/paste emails so your stuck.

Richard
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Simple sophisticated software that will simplify your practice

Revisado el 31/7/2017

This is a complete solution for my practice. I am a single solo so the document automation, notes,...

This is a complete solution for my practice. I am a single solo so the document automation, notes, time entries and billing are a great way to save time and effort.

Puntos a favor

One of the best features of the software is not so much a feature but the logic employed in designing the flow of data. I have used a number of the more popular programs and can heartily recommend this as the best I have found. The ease of use makes it a top choice if you have staff that will use it. I am a single solo and it is not one of my concerns yet. But, I can't see anyone not understanding the flow of information. The automation is superb. Document assembly is easy and logical. One of the best features is the Forms generator. Email the form to your client or prospective client - they fill it out - and it goes right into your data. No need to waste time inputting names, addresses, phone numbers, email addresses, and any other data you would like to have handy in your file.

Tracking time is a breeze as is generating invoices, tracking retainer accounts, tracking trust accounts and more (I find the accounting component more than meets my needs).

Over time you will come to rely on the information in the program over the physical file. It has become my organizational hub for all that I do.

Puntos en contra

I would like to see a thick book explaining all the capabilities and limits. The support people are great and can answer any question - I just like to read it and push the software to its limits. I have used PP for some time - moving to another package for some time. At twice the price - it did less. In my brief time away the product dramatically improved & I am back and very happy.

JG
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 1.0 /10

Developer Issues

Revisado el 9/3/2021

Overall the program is subpar. It is great for simple billing tasks but customer support response...

Overall the program is subpar. It is great for simple billing tasks but customer support response time is lacking and the developer has limited the software to basic usage. Every time I raise a question about something simple that is not available I get the standard "that is a developer question" Will be looking for other programs to utilize that are geared more towards our needs.

Puntos a favor

The product is easy to manipulate and anyone can migrate through entering time.

Puntos en contra

Their billing templates are not interchangeable. I have clients that use different placements for the law firm id/customer id. Contacted customer support (as there is an option to copy the template) to find out how to reverse the 2 columns and was told that it cannot be done and that he would bring it up with the developer. I highly doubt that that is the case since I never received any response back. This means that each month I have to go into the ledes file and reverse the numbers in the 2 columns. Very time consuming and not realistic if you have more than 1 client utilizing ledes billing. Also, their reporting is horrific as you cannot create your own customized report.

Respuesta de Paradigm

Hi JG, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy that you found PracticePanther easy to navigate and apologize you had issues with the billing templates. Our development team was notified of your request for this change. If you have anything else we can help with, please let us know.

Joseph
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Great Product!

Revisado el 11/4/2017

I recently switched to PracticePanther after 20 years using different version of Amicus Attorney. ...

I recently switched to PracticePanther after 20 years using different version of Amicus Attorney. While Amicus helped me to keep my practice moving for years, the lack of continuing support for the product and meaningful changes caused me to start looking at alternatives. After researching the current crop of practice management programs and downloading several demo's, I ended subscribing to the PracticePanther team. The first reason I chose PP was the fact that I was able to create "workflows" that automate a ton of the tasks required for several practices areas. For example, a new misdemeanor criminal case can have the misdemeanor workflow that I created applied and all of the steps for the cases are automatically generated. The scheduling of the first client meeting, initial hearing, filing of our appearance, requesting discovery, sending discovery, attending the pretrial conference, plea meeting with client and change of plea hearing all become tasks or calendar events with just the touch of a button. My assistant then just needs to coordinate the dates for all of the auto-generated tasks or events in order to have the file completely organized. The workflow also assigns the responsibility for completion of tasks automatically to me or my staff so we all are reminded of what needs to take place next. The second selling feature for me was the automated email and text-message reminders that can be generated to the client (and to staff if desired). I like that I receive a text reminder from my dentist's office and wanted something similar. For all events that I create within the workflow, I can assign the reminder details. This has significantly lowered the number of no-shows that I have for office meetings and court hearings and reduces the staff time that was spent before calling to remind clients of court dates and meetings. The third key feature that I really wanted was the secure client portal feature. The portal allows me to hand incoming clients an Ipad to have them fill out their intake information that we would need to create a new client file. Once the client has completed the information on the Ipad, it automatically creates a new contact within the PP system and we can then easily generate a new matter if we are hired. For clients that we choose to work with, they are also sent an email invitation to open their secure portal, thus allowing them access to their online file within the PP system. Clients love it.

Puntos a favor

Great tools, great automation, great customer support

Puntos en contra

There are continuing areas that we could further automate to make the product even more amazing.

Linda
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios jurídicos
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Why did I wait so long?

Revisado el 23/8/2019

Until we found PP, we were posting our files in OneDrive and having to search for things that we...

Until we found PP, we were posting our files in OneDrive and having to search for things that we should not need to. Quickbooks is inadequate for billing legal-type work and there was no way to run any kind of conflict check without making a spreadsheet and manually adding new clients and inquiries. Now, all we do is put everything in PP. There we can see the progress of our cases, billing, calendars, tasks assignments, project plans and do conflict checks based on more than just the case caption or attorneys. Each case has tag options for identifying the type of work we are doing or any other significant aspect of the case and we can use that also for finding things within the matter or inside our entire database. What's more, it works with OneDrive, so all of our documents are accessible within the program.
This is just what we needed and more...

Puntos a favor

As a small practice, I needed to organize and implement an office management system that I could use if my assistant was not here. This software is the most intuitive, responsive and useful that I have tried...and I have test driven four of the top recommended products. I have everything I need in one package; whereas, other companies require additional packages to connect to email and form templates. The learning curve has been very small. Both of us here have not had any training yet and are up and running (for the most part) after only a week or so. Now we will be taking advantage of the great training videos and one-on-one training to hone our skills and use it to its fullest extent.

Puntos en contra

So far, our experience has only been positive. Graphics are simple and somewhat old-fashioned, BUT they work great for finding things...that's what counts.

Terry
Calificación general
  • Sector: Práctica de la abogacía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Easy and efficient

Revisado el 11/7/2017

Being a new firm and a newly solo practitioner, I wanted the most efficient way to do it all enter...

Being a new firm and a newly solo practitioner, I wanted the most efficient way to do it all enter my time and expenses, invoice, communicate with clients, use intake templates, etc. More, I practice throughout Northern California and log a lot of travel time meeting with clients, attending arbitrations or court appearances, or at speaking engagements. With that, I needed easy access on my laptop or phone to a law practice management system.
Previously, I did not have the ability to easily and quickly access a law practice management system. I also had numerous systems for entering time, tracking potential clients, invoicing, and the like. I love that I can use Practice Panther as a "one stop shop", even to pay bills, and that I can use it anywhere and on any device. It has made the hectic life of a newly solo and "on-the-go", mobile attorney much easier. I no longer have to worry about spending too much time on pesky administrative tasks.

Puntos a favor

Other than it being a "one stop shop" and the ease of accessibility, I have been impressed with Practice Panther's ability to respond to my specific needs. A significant amount of my work is for unions and clients with multiple matters. Initially, Practice Panther was unable handle invoicing and billing for an individual contact with multiple matters. However, I approached them with my needs and they created a "fix" to their system within a week. They also followed up to ensure that I was satisfied. I was certainly impressed by Practice Panther's speed and attentiveness.

Puntos en contra

I am still trying to learn all of the ins and outs. I need a bit more tutelage on the nuances. At times, customer service may not answer all of the questions, however, they have been very responsive to my needs once I call or make them known.

Ron
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios jurídicos
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Customized client intake, easy reporting, and simple invoice tracking!

Revisado el 21/1/2022

It really has changed how we interact with our clients. The ease of sending new client intake...

It really has changed how we interact with our clients. The ease of sending new client intake forms, which can be filled out on any device regardless of having a PracticePanther account, has really streamlined our intake process. Being able to track invoices right within the tool, and being able to generate reports easily - it really has streamlined how we operate.

Puntos a favor

The look and feel was one of our deciding factors to go with PracticePanther. It’s incredibly intuitive, and most of your data is available whenever you need it. In immigration law, there’s a lot of very important dates and information that need to be tracked, so being able to create all the custom fields we needed was a big win. I also love how easy it is to track our billing. We can automatically track who has paid, and then follow-up with anyone we still need to collect from. Giving extra transparency to our clients really showcases our ability to use technology to enhance our services.

Puntos en contra

When starting with any new software you need to approach it with some patience. There’s a lot of training available, both videos and text-based. So getting ramped-up and knowing that we needed to experiment with customization and intake forms, and get the team to support using it was going to take some time.

Stephanie
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios jurídicos
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Great Software but it has changed

Revisado el 17/11/2020

This is a solid piece of software for a small office. It is a workhorse and handles law offices...

This is a solid piece of software for a small office. It is a workhorse and handles law offices management with ease. The fact that it is in the cloud has greatly increased our ability to go remote and mobile through this pandemic.

Puntos a favor

The organization of this software, entry systems and program itself are all easy to use and easy to train new employees on.

Puntos en contra

When I originally bought this software, this company was pretty new. They were very communicative and very helpful. Since they have grown, they have lost some of their customer service. They have recently added new things which help their bottom line but aren't as customer focuses as they once were.

Alternativas consideradas

Clio

Razones para cambiar a PracticePanther Legal Software

Price, ease of use and ease of install.