Microsoft SQL Server

Sistema de gestión de bases de datos relacionales para analíticas de datos

Calificación general

4,6 /5
(1.761)
Relación calidad-precio
4,3/5
Funciones
4,6/5
Facilidad de uso
4,3/5
Asistencia al cliente
4,3/5

97%
Un ha recomendado esta aplicación
Ordenar por

Opiniones de 1761

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Reseña de calidad desde el punto de vista de un desarrollador de base de datos.

Revisado el 26/10/2022

Es buena por lo general ya que tiene una empresa con un gran soporte detrás de ella y una buena gestión de usuarios.

Puntos a favor

La forma de utilizar es poco compleja y tiene fácil conectividad con entornos de desarrollo.

Puntos en contra

La instalación es compleja en ocasiones y suele dar ciertos errores además con el tiempo que tiene podría tener ciertas extensiones que faciliten el gestionar base de datos.

Jesus Cortes
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Sql server

Revisado el 14/10/2022

Buena, tenemos michos clientes con estas bases de datos.

Puntos a favor

La cantidad de datos que podemos tener en una bd, depende de la versión, con la gratuita ppdemos tener hasta 10gb

Puntos en contra

La gestión de copias de seguridad, las copias se tienen que programar por comandos

Alternativas consideradas

MySQL

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft SQL Server

Funciona mucho mejor
Claudio Ivan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Construcción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Un gran manejador de bases de datos

Revisado el 20/7/2020

En generar es una gran herramienta para bases de datos, hace todo lo que uno busca con buena velocidad, es relativamente ligero para un servidor y barato (incluso la versión express es completamente gratuita), por lo que es una gran opción para empezar en una pequeña empresa, pero es lo suficientemente robusta como para ir escalando conforme más potencia se necesite.

Puntos a favor

La herramienta es fácil de instalar, y el mismo proveedor de Microsoft da de manera gratuita un ambiente de trabajo ordenado para utilizar fácilmente la sql server (el SSMS).
Además, se mantiene en constante mejora con actualizaciones regulares.

Puntos en contra

No hay nada que en realidad no me guste, el problema sería más bien al tratar de realizar migraciones de bases de datos viejas a nuevas que se encuentren en azure y que no tengan elasticidad, es ahí donde una estructura multi teant podría tener problemas (si no se emplea un esquema elástico).

Juan Carlos
Calificación general
  • Sector: Agricultura
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Una base de datos que va mejorando

Revisado el 28/10/2022

Es una buena herramienta, cumple con las características de las bases de datos, de fácil administración y potente. Es indudable tomarla en cuenta para nuestros proyectos.

Puntos a favor

Su instalación es muy sencilla,es compatible con casi todos los lenguajes y su poder de procesamiento va creciendo con el tiempo. Se ha convertido en rival de otros motores como Oracle.

Puntos en contra

Su sencillo uso también puede generar que no compita a la par con otros motores, además no se lo puede instalar de forma nativa en sistemas operativos que no sean windows.

Magno Gabriel
Calificación general
  • Sector: Alimentación y bebidas
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Gestión de bases de datos

Revisado el 10/11/2022

Es más fácil de relacionar las tablas con Microsoft Sql Server. Ya que posee múltiples funcionalidades.

Puntos a favor

Es una herramienta poderosa para la gestión de bares de datos. Es prácticamente un standar para este tipo de gestión.

Puntos en contra

Es un programa robusto y por ende algo pesado en algunas arquitecturas de hardware.

Julian Gaston
Calificación general
  • Sector: Telecomunicaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Lo mejor para Base de Datos

Revisado el 14/9/2021

Puntos a favor

La uso para realizar consultas y crear vistas a tablas específicas.

Puntos en contra

Me gustaría contar con una forma gráfica de realizar consultas.

Kevin
Calificación general
  • Sector: Agricultura
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 5.0 /10

Elegante

Revisado el 1/10/2022

En general muy bien todo bien por el momento tengo

Puntos a favor

Muy funcional apara la hora del trabajo en la empresa

Puntos en contra

Los precios deberían dejarlo más baratos para mayor clientela

Brayan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Banca
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Mi Experiencia

Revisado el 25/5/2021

no a resuelto mucho a en la empresa ya que SQL SERVER es el motor de base de datos de la empresa y por hay manejamos lo que la reporteria de la empresa con lo que le llamamos REPORTING SERVER.

Puntos a favor

la facilidad del manejo de los datos y sus agilidad para brindar una respuesta a la consulta.

Puntos en contra

las Estructura del sistema de base de datos

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Logística y cadena de suministro
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Herramienta muy útil

Revisado el 27/10/2022

Puntos a favor

Lo que mas me gusta del software, es poder obtener de manera óptima los datos que utilizaré mediante querys.

Puntos en contra

Lo que menos me gusta podría decir que es la lentitud al momento de realizar querys muy largas.

Moisés
Calificación general
  • Sector: Banca
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado Mensualmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Servidor SQL de Microsoft

Revisado el 13/1/2022

Microsoft SQL Server me ha solucionado tener toda la información de los distintos negocios a los cuales le trabajo bajo dicha solución, centralizada.

Puntos a favor

El producto me ayuda a realizar consultas en las distintas base de datos de mi organización, en donde me puedo a la vez insertar, modificar y eliminar registros, así como filtrar por campos y condicionantes, registros específicos.

Puntos en contra

El producto satisface todas mis necesidades tanto de consultas, almacenamiento y registro del conjunto de datos de mi organización.

christian
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hospital y atención sanitaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Prueba gratis
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Buena pero hay mejores

Revisado el 11/11/2022

Pues no me gustó mucho pero tampoco es mal software está aceptable por el precio

Puntos a favor

La capacidad de almacenamiento de datos y copia de seguridad

Puntos en contra

Que se traba en varios prosesos o si son más de dos

Ramon
Calificación general
  • Sector: Automoción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Great database manager

Revisado el 25/11/2022

It is a great tool, it meets everything I need for my database

Puntos a favor

What I like about this application is its ease of use, it helps me keep my work environment organized, in addition to the fact that it is constantly being updated, a great database tool, it meets everything I am looking for, great speed, It can make my servers lighter, it is a great option for people who want to start with a small company and also to be able to expand.

Puntos en contra

So far I can't find anything I don't like in this app.

juan jose
Calificación general
  • Sector: Aviación y aeroespacial
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Microsoft SQL Server for Business

Revisado el 17/11/2022

I have 5 years working with Microsoft SQL Server, I have adapted well, I like the functionality it has, the practical way in which you can perform queries, scheduled tasks for my daily and weekly backups are excellent, accompanied by the crystal report, works great, I tried to try other database managers like ORACLE, but I think it is better Microsoft SQL server, to this day, I prefer to work with it.

Puntos a favor

Personally, I like that the application is easy to use, obviously if you already have time using it and you are familiar with the concepts and terms used, the tools to create backups or schedule tasks to run on specific dates and times is quite good, the price is affordable not too expensive unlike oracle.

Puntos en contra

to install it is a bit time consuming, since you have to configure it on the fly, it does not bring any preconfigured default settings, this takes a little time to the user, to migrate to other operating systems other than windows, you have to make other extra configurations.

Alternativas consideradas

MySQL

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft SQL Server

It is the manager used by the company for which I work, since it adapts better to their needs, for this reason we have always worked with Microsoft SQL Server.
Wilmer Josué
Calificación general
  • Sector: Bibliotecas
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

SQL Server as a primary tool for developers

Revisado el 18/6/2021

I have been using SQL server since the first periods of college in my programming classes, as a storage of information I have been taught its practical use both personally and for program development in companies. I find it a very useful and versatile tool, it is used with ease as long as the developer has studied enough information about sql server because a novice and a pro can delete by mistake a whole database, you have to be careful because there are no request messages to deny the deletion. To use the tool I recommend to practice a lot and to comment the coding.

Puntos a favor

What I liked about the tool is the practical use it has, it can be used by novices in an easy way, as long as someone teaches them the basics, it is very useful on a daily basis due to the management of databases and their respective migration to other platforms. The management of the information becomes useful, it is versatile to changes before, during and after the development of the project.

Puntos en contra

What I liked least is the interface and the work area because when moving a part of that interface it is not very intuitive to place it to the default place, I have had problems with that and also that for processes of adding data I find the work space very small.

Carlos David
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Microsoft RDBMS Solution

Revisado el 29/8/2022

Whenever I need to rely on a robust DBMS for any of my platforms, provided that my clients have the financial muscle to support it, I always recommend going with SQL Server. So, in that sense, I can say that my overall experience is remarkable all over the years I have been deploying solutions backed up by this Database System.

Puntos a favor

Among the most interesting features of Microsoft SQL Server we can disclose the following:
Robust & Secure System
Easy to Deploy
Performance+
Integration with Public Cloud such as Microsoft Azure

Puntos en contra

As many of Microsoft Premium products, SQL Server license is really expensive.

Alternativas consideradas

PostgreSQL y MySQL

Razones para elegir Microsoft SQL Server

Microsoft SQL Server performed better with the key products from our company The cost of infrastructure to deploy it was about the same.

Software anterior

Oracle Database

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft SQL Server

I believe it is more reliable as it is backed up by a Tech giant such as Microsoft.
Guillermo
Calificación general
  • Sector: Marketing y publicidad
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

A good choice as a database manager, but it can be improved.

Revisado el 9/11/2022

It is good software, as I mentioned before. It syncs well with other Microsoft tools. In almost 2 years of use, I feel comfortable when working with this software. I hope that the improvements I mention in the negative points will be included. Otherwise excellent.

Puntos a favor

I like that it allows me to use my Windows login credentials as user authentication to connect to the server. Plus it integrates easily with other Microsoft programs such as Visual Studio 2022, Business Intelligence tools, etc. I am a Software Engineering student, and I have been testing many database managers. Of all the ones I have used Microsoft SQL Server is the easiest to install and very intuitive regarding the use of its tools. In addition to being a student, I give small tutorials on how to use the software, such as tips for new users, and database backup.

Puntos en contra

I don't have much to criticize in this space. For me, the Software is very complete. But if I would like you to implement a dark theme throughout the interface, it would be very helpful to rest your eyes and avoid fatigue after hours of work.

Olivier
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

The default database for Windows development

Revisado el 9/11/2022

This is the base storage for many of our applications, allowing to handle millions of rows without a single failure.

Puntos a favor

This is the database that I grew up with, and it's never disappointed me over all these years.It keeps compatibility between versions and has a nice documentation about migrating.

Puntos en contra

There has been situations where we hit a roadblock and the documentation for it was a bit lacking.

Alternativas consideradas

PostgreSQL, Oracle Database, MySQL y SQLite

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft SQL Server

This is the one our client are used to, and it's tightly integrated with Active Directory
Gábor
Calificación general
  • Sector: Automoción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

My past with MS SQL

Revisado el 25/10/2022

I met firstly with MS SQL in the uni. The in one of my workplaces I became an admin of it, so as a "user".Its two sides-role widely different. Writing queries, retrieving data, manipulating the results (not the stored data) is a cool option. Easier, faster, more known then Oracle's PL/SQL I would say. The option it gives you are enormous, and how many things uses a DB nowadays are surprising. Knowing and being able to manage a DB, will be an asset in the future. Speed depends on your codes and on your machine. The memory is the enemy of the DBs, so as for MS SQL. Maybe other, non-relational DBs have better results, but on specific tasks. MS SQL is being better, has a lot of devs. behind its back and MS itself, you definitely worth considering it having as a primary database. 3rd party extensions can be used, that can take your productivity to the next level, like APEX.Having a free version up to 10 gigs per database, you would not believe how many company based its business on this "advantage".

Puntos a favor

Can be integrated with a lot of MS and 3rd party tools.The query window is well formed.The speed of the DB is excellent, but bases heavily on your custom codes.Reports, ad-hoc table, integrations with other reporting tools, intranet websites are great.

Puntos en contra

Less training options available comparing it to other MS tools.Intergration, access management can be difficult.Sometimes not easy to track changes in your codes, mostly in big databases.Installation could be easier.It not recommended, but for IT personnel with solid knowledge.

Turan
Calificación general
  • Sector: Automoción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Platform Independent Data Processing Solution MS SQL

Revisado el 22/10/2022

Puntos a favor

It is a solution partner that is too perfect to be an alternative and too professional to have an alternative. It is a structure that provides much easier integration, fast and excellent customer support, and special solutions with minimum resources compared to other alternatives. The fact that it offers alternative solutions and options that can be applied to every request is also effective in its selection. Besides all these options,*Failover Cluster*Column Encryption with Always Encryption in SQL Server*Parameter Sensitive Plan (PSP) Optimization*Easy Hybrid Disaster Recovery with Azure SQL MI*Auto Backup Configuration*Running SQL Server on Linux*Database Downgrade with BACPAC*Transparant Database Encryption (TDE)*Returning from Page Level Backup* Usage with Mail and Gmail* Differential Backup* Dexexpress for business intelligence and big data*Fulltext Search*Virtualization Support

Puntos en contra

There is no minor or major deficiency in the system. If a very careful plan is not made during the installation phase, problems may arise.

Pinki
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Best RDBMS for managing Data

Revisado el 16/10/2022

Its been very good experience to use sql server. With help of sql server we are managing very large amounts of data very efficiently.

Puntos a favor

Its very easy to use and manage very large data. We have 2 products in both projects we are using sql server for managing data as it’s capable of managing and handling large data. Performance is also very good.

Puntos en contra

Its license cost is very costly. And in sql server 2012 Json is not supporting which is not good.

Andy
Calificación general
  • Sector: Telecomunicaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Microsoft products are usually stable and reliable.

Revisado el 3/9/2022

SQL Server allows a large number of accesses without affecting performance. Once switched, there are no performance issues. Many users and developers have stated that the process is faster and more convenient thanks to the application. Access is used for the database and this has led to slow performance when the number of data increases. Large amounts of data sometimes require slow operations.

Puntos a favor

SQL Server is the enterprise system database, and its toolset is provided as standard. Many departments in the company use it as a database when creating a small system. Its graphical user interface is easy to use even for beginners, and its data can be queried seamlessly from other Microsoft products such as Access.

Puntos en contra

The application has very few bugs and offers stable operation.
The core elements of the product's usability remain the same despite repeated changes.
Both the cost and feature set of Oracle is superior to NetSuite.

Alternativas consideradas

Amazon S3

Razones para elegir Microsoft SQL Server

An Excel database can be shared with other BI tools and used to store personal information. As the database increases in size, searches will take longer because the search speed depends on device specifications. In reality, however, more records mean longer search time.

Software anterior

Microsoft Excel

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft SQL Server

We decided to test it first and check the features and advantages it offers when integrating with Microsoft products by purchasing the free Express edition, which allows us to use up to 10 GB of database capacity. The GUI is easy to use and provides stable performance, which has not led to any complaints. Before buying the paid version, try the free EXPRESS version.
Jonathan Alexander
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hospital y atención sanitaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A robust database engine with high information security standards.

Revisado el 25/5/2022

At the moment we have no negative features to add to the product

Puntos a favor

How safe this database engine can be, its integration with other technological tools, say, programming languages, infrastructure, datawarehouse and more

Puntos en contra

A bit the price, since the enterprise license is a bit expensive

Alternativas consideradas

Oracle Database y IBM Db2

Razones para elegir Microsoft SQL Server

We needed a more robust database engine due to the growth of the company and the processes that are currently being handled, plus the integrations with different platforms.

Software anterior

PostgreSQL y MySQL

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft SQL Server

We needed a more robust database engine due to the growth of the company and the processes that are currently being handled, plus the integrations with different platforms.
Masoud
Calificación general
  • Sector: Comercio minorista
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

A database system that you can trust your data with!

Revisado el 10/3/2022

I believe we rely on Microsoft SQL Server and its great features and performance a lot. It's our first choice in terms of an RDBMS database and I believe it remains as such for a long time.

Puntos a favor

I've been using Microsoft SQL Server since version 2000 and I must say that every year the team behind it adds tons of improvements and great new features that keep this software a fantastic competitor in the market.
The database engine is very clever in optimising your queries, giving insights on improvements and dealing with your complex queries.
Microsoft's TSQL is very easy to understand and very easy to grasp even though in recent years the team have introduced more complex query templates but still it stands out impressively amongst the others.
I also love that they have released the full version as a Developer version where you can try all the software's great features without any cost at all!

Puntos en contra

The huge cost difference between the Standard and the Enterprise version is a put off as certain features like table partitioning should be part of the Standard version.

Alternativas consideradas

MySQL

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft SQL Server

The greater community behind it and the performance difference made us go to Microsoft SQL Server as our first choice.
Germo
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

my every day tool which I use, since it exists

Revisado el 21/2/2022

I use SQL Server since it was obtained by Microsoft. I am specialized on it and I work only in projects where it is used as core technologie. I am a very experienced architect and developer, based on SQL Server And Microsoft BI.

Puntos a favor

It is easy to install. There is also a free Express Edition / Localdb, which has most features of the paid Version. The developer Edition has all Features of the Enterprise Edition. It is very easy to install even several instances on any system. I can solve nearly all tasks, I feel very confident. The documentation is great and it is easy to find answers to questions. It is just my every day tool.

Puntos en contra

If there are some heavy queries then the whole instance gets down, often even other instances on the same system. I don't understand why it is not possible to limit the effect.
Many features which I would like to use are only available in the enterprise edition. But this edition cost much more than standard and I am forced to use only features of the standard edition.
Often I am forced to use quite old version, for example 2016, but the current version is 2019. Again the reason is the price. Customers would need to spent more money for the latest version, therfore they force me to develop based on old versions.

Shawn
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios jurídicos
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

SQL Server a Building Block of Tech Stack

Revisado el 10/12/2021

Good overall experience. We're addressing the need to store, transform, and retrieve data. Information has become the backbone of many technological and business operations, and almost everything I work on goes through a SQL database to accomplish the job. It's one tier of applications that is used almost everywhere. SQL Server allows us to query data for reporting to end users, and also provides options to move and transform the data to different environments.

Puntos a favor

At our firm, we have a completely Microsoft tech stack; from servers, databases, middleware, peripheral applications, etc. When using all Microsoft products, it is extremely easy to connect and integrate between applications, servers, and databases. I am less sure about integrating with other providers (such as oracle), but I know its possible with a little more effort. Maintenance, backups, restores, disaster recovery plans all seem routine now. The product is very familiar and there is ample documentation and general SQL training. Get a good DBA and your servers will stay healthy as well; certain system settings are important, and monitoring those and adjusting for your business is prudent. SSMS is an easy IDE to use and perform any function. You can use SQL to automate many tasks, and I really like the SQL jobs. SSIS lets me automate so much, even to and from external vendors, using SFTP or some other mechanism. It extends SQL Server to use any script or basic Windows command.

Puntos en contra

When you run into an issue, it can be hard to resolve. An example would be when Microsoft data connectors aren't working. Understanding and getting the right supporting software installed is important; like OLE DB and ODBC connectors. Another difficulty can be performance. As data sets get larger, this is more important. While there are enough tools to investigate and troubleshoot, sometimes it's just a big effort to try to query tune, index, or adjust server settings to get the results in performance that you want. Queries seem to only get more complex, and data sets larger. I am pretty sure other databases will perform better with Big Data.