GitLab

Gestión completa del ciclo de vida de DevOps

Calificación general

4,6 /5
(687)
Relación calidad-precio
4,6/5
Funciones
4,6/5
Facilidad de uso
4,4/5
Asistencia al cliente
4,2/5

96%
Un ha recomendado esta aplicación
Ordenar por

Opiniones de 687

Gianluigi M.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Great tool to track issues and to manage IT projects

Revisado el 10/5/2022

A part the issue tracking feature, which is a very long time component, the CI/CD help us to build a robust CI and CD process.

Puntos a favor

Issues tracking is simple and complete, but the really powerful part of the software it's the CI/CD. Pipelines and integration with Kubernetes (and lots of others tools) are a long time and mature features.

Puntos en contra

Actually I don't find out missing features.

Pius E.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Gitlab

Revisado el 29/5/2022

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

Puntos a favor

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

Puntos en contra

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

Software anterior

GitHub

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.
Justin S.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 0.0 /10

Beware of GitLab billing issues

Revisado el 25/2/2022

Not long ago, I ordered some GitLab licenses since more people wanted to use it. I asked to go from 57 to 75 licenses. Instead, GitLab put the order in wrong and added 75 licenses, bringing us to 132 total.

About this time, I was pulled to a critically-important project that was way behind schedule and told not to work on anything else. When I got enough breathing room to switch back, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] acted like she couldn't care less. The most I ever got was "I'll be sure to look into it" or "I'm still looking into it".

The process dragged on for weeks. I had to nag her over and over again for updates until she finally told me that GitLab's billing department had decided... not to give me a refund because it had been too long. How convenient, especially after dragging out the process for so long.

I complained about this, asked for a new account manager, and got what I requested. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] took my concerns to the GitLab crew again... and got told once again that not only would we not receive a refund, GitLab wasn't going to offer us any sort of compensation or credit whatsoever.

We're a software company as well, and we would never treat loyal customers this way - especially not our power users. I've built my DevOps career around GitLab and encouraged others to do the same. That GitLab could be so tone-deaf over a problem that was clearly their fault speaks volumes to how the company has changed.

Puntos a favor

GitLab does well as an all-in-one software development platform.

Puntos en contra

If GitLab makes a billing problem, it may refuse to rectify the problem as they did with us.

Tolgay K.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Telecomunicaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

GitLab for DevOps and Automation Activities

Revisado el 26/4/2022

We entegrated it reporting tools as well. We are getting commit counts, pipeline usage etc and create reports in Kibana / Tableau.

Puntos a favor

It is a great tool to use for creating a baseline for source code management, versioning, and backwards revision history. It is possible to apply branchin strategy as you wish. We used it in our DevOps & Automation activities with entegrating a bunch of other tools.

Puntos en contra

Sometimes it is very difficult to manage the conflicts in the merge requests coming from different branches to the main branch specially if a lot of developers working in parallel.

Alternativas consideradas

Artifactory

Razones para elegir GitLab

To centralize usage of the same tool within whole organisation.

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Cost management , Improve business process agility
Matthew S.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios financieros
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Couldn't live without it

Revisado el 7/5/2022

Overall I've found GitLab to be a great tool for implementing and verifying updates to our team's projects and

Puntos a favor

GitLab makes implementing changes to a project far easier to manage and review with merge requests.
I also find the visualisation of the project branches to be a very helpful feature.
The amount of documentation offered and community support is fantastic.

Puntos en contra

We've been pleasantly surprised at how problem-free GitLab has been. Possibly more clear and understandable detail when errors arise would be the only suggestion

Mat M.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Gitlab is the best

Revisado el 17/6/2022

I absolutely love this product, and it is my favorite

Puntos a favor

I would choose this over any other product because the ci-cd is amazingly easy to use and customizable. The self-hosted capabilities and easy of use of this product makes it number one!

Puntos en contra

Bugs and support sometimes take a bit to get taken care of, but the bugs are few!

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub y Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Because of its ci-cd. I can have it self hosted and set up hardware on the same network easily and completely test my deployment before actually deploying my code. It's the best!
Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Administración educativa
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Very nice tool - great option to manage your software development / code versions

Revisado el 25/5/2022

Very smooth experience overall, I had the guidance of a colleague during the period I was using it, so it was easy.

Puntos a favor

Great UX/UI and features, which are essential things when dealing with software development in my opinion. It was easy to integrate and use alongside Sublime Text and it was a great tool to collaborate with the other member of the team. I loved how easy it was to create and manage our project. User-friendly, similar to other tools, which made it easier to learn.

Puntos en contra

I don't have anything to complain at this point, I've used for the sole purpose of working on a particular project with a particular team. It was very similar to the other tool I used (GitHub) which was good to facilitate the learning.

Dominik S.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Automoción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

great software management

Revisado el 5/6/2022

Puntos a favor

different people can work on the same code without version problems

Puntos en contra

the user interface needs some time to get used to it

Jing feng C.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

GitLab Review

Revisado el 5/5/2022

Overall GitLab serves it's purpose well and it is becoming the most used software in development that requires CI/CD such as web development. It is easy to set up pipelines and has a really good integration with git. Those who uses GitHub can transition easily to GitLab too as they are very similar.

Puntos a favor

The integration of CI/CD with Git makes deployment in team projects so much easier. CI/CD is simplified just by running the pipelines whenever a user pushes a change. It is easy to visualize the pipelines too.

Puntos en contra

Maybe there could be an in depth tutorial on how to use all the features, as it may seem daunting to most users when they first start out with GitLab.

Giuseppe N.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Best product, but a little expensive.

Revisado el 7/6/2022

Puntos a favor

I had the chance to use both the comunity-edition version and the SaaS too and I have to admit it's really nice to use. It offers a lot of features for project, issue and team management, with deadlines, milestones and much more.

Puntos en contra

It is true that it offers a lot of features, but compared to other services it costs a lot.

Arzu Ö.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Easy to use, comprehensive, open-source tool for project management

Revisado el 23/4/2022

We have set up and customized GitLab on our own servers in order to manage a project where digital marketing, software, devops, human resources and many teams work together. This really relieved us of a great burden. Everyone's own project management area on GitLab was clear, besides, the issues and projects that they needed to work on were also very clear. We can follow many processes such as product development, project management, task tracking in a sustainable way. It also serves as a great archive for people who join the team later.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is an easy to use and versatile project management tool. As a team, we use it not only for software development projects, but also for the follow-up of our other projects. It is really great that it is customizable, you can simplify your interface for your teammates who cannot use complex applications. This offers you a more user-friendly product.

Puntos en contra

It's a little harder for people other than engineers to adapt. You shouldn't expect traditional drag-and-drop kanban boards. It's a bit of a technical product. But if we consider that the intended use of the product, this is really normal, not a big minus.

Alternativas consideradas

Jira

Software anterior

GitHub
Marc F.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Customizable management system for any project

Revisado el 24/2/2022

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work.
In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them.

GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Puntos en contra

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub y Google Drive

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.
Morgan B.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Salud, bienestar y deporte
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

A great hosted Git SCM solution

Revisado el 18/2/2022

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

Puntos en contra

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Matthew B.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

Revisado el 16/9/2021

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

Puntos a favor

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

Puntos en contra

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

Software anterior

GitHub y Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.
Alejandro B.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

The best opensource tool for software engineering management

Revisado el 26/5/2021

We're hosting all of our private code repositories on gitlab.com, using the issue tracker, merge requests. We also run our continuos builds and deploy directly to our Google Cloud Kubernetes Engine workloads.

Puntos a favor

It's opensource though provides a cloud based solution with a really good free tier. It allows integrating code repositories with issue tracking and continuos integration and continuos deployment

Puntos en contra

User experience could be largely improved. Searching and filters are a bit clunky from the UX point of view. Also bulk actions are only allowed at project level.

Alternativas consideradas

Jira

Razones para elegir GitLab

We wanted to have issue tracking, code repositories, merge requests and continuos integration/deployment all in the same tool.

Software anterior

Trello y Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

It was the best alternative for our budget, and it allowed us to use our own Google Cloud Platform account to run Continuos Integration/Deployment jobs
Corentin M.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Revisado el 25/1/2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Puntos en contra

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Alternativas consideradas

GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

Needed better CI/CD.

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.
Thiago R.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Great for DevOps teams

Revisado el 31/12/2020

Puntos a favor

GitLab has all the must-have features for complete development and deployment flow.
The easy-to-configure pipeline is a differential, mainly due to the possibility of installing the agent (GitLab runner) in our infrastructure.
Issue management and merge requests are excellent and do not fall short of your direct competitors.
I use the GitLab in the cloud (SaaS) and on-premises, and it supplies my DevOps needs and team collaboration on the code review process.

Puntos en contra

On bitbucket, it is possible to see in realtime when a coworker is reviewing the merge request (pull request). It would be great to see this feature on GitLab too. The Runner registration is a bit harder when using an automation like Ansible.

Alternativas consideradas

Azure DevOps Services y GitHub

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

The gitlab pipeline feature.
Edward Y.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Git Awesome

Revisado el 8/7/2020

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Puntos a favor

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Puntos en contra

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Alternativas consideradas

Bitbucket, Confluence y Jira

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.
Andrei P.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Internet
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A great free alternative to GitHub if you need large repos and teams

Revisado el 2/4/2020

GitLab helped us solve all of our backup and collaboration needs for our large file projects. While we do have on-site physical backups just in case, GitLab is great at keeping the core files safe. On the physical backup we put big assets and on GitLab mostly the code.

If it wasn't for GitLab we'd be using GitHub for some projects only as certain files surpass their limit.

Puntos a favor

The biggest pro for us at JeFawk Games (me and my freelancing friends, not employees as stated) was the fact that it allowed for 1GB of space for free in private repos! Since we're working on games, we really needed the space and the privacy. This was from before GitHub was acquired by Microsoft and gave away unlimited free repos.

Time forwarding a bit and GitHub is giving out free private repos of max 1GB with the option to use the Large File Storage thing, which in GitLab you don't need to bother with as you get it by default.

It includes DevOps and a lot of other features that frankly we don't make use of.

It's just the much bigger space by default and up to 3 collaborators. GitLab is great! Although it does have some cons....

Puntos en contra

One of the biggest problem with GitLab is that their website is a bit laggy. You can wait 1 to 4 seconds for some pages to load.
Another issue is that we actually use the GitHub Desktop application to handle GitLab repositories and the setup to connect the application to GitLab is kinda clunky, more like to allow GitLab to be grabbed as URL. Wouldn't wanna go through that again, hopefully they already streamlined it as last time I did it was about 2 years ago.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Marketing y publicidad
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A discrete item in your toolkit

Revisado el 10/3/2020

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Puntos a favor

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day.

The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Puntos en contra

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Peter W.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Educación superior
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Code repositories and version tracking

Revisado el 10/1/2020

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

Puntos a favor

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users.
You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches.
The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

Puntos en contra

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required.
The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab.
User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Great platform to host your project!

Revisado el 12/12/2019

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry.
However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Puntos a favor

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab.
The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Puntos en contra

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies.
Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments.
Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Alternativas consideradas

Bitbucket y GitHub

Razones para elegir GitLab

Better CI/CD

Software anterior

Bitbucket

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Better CI/CD
Sachith D.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Administración educativa
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

The Best DevOps Platform

Revisado el 30/10/2019

Overall, GitLab is an excellent program for freelancers. It's really simple to use, simple to administrate and offers all that users need for developing. And if users implement it in the correct way it will speed up their development effectively. Adding more to this, it provides excellent ways to manage git repositories on a centralized secure server.

Puntos a favor

Project operation: Using GitLab provides the user with complete control over their projects. Users can easily follow up activities assigned to their respective partners. Additionally, the program gives you the advantage to have members across the borders as well, hence it is pretty useful and comes in handy when the work is beyond the borders.

Easy to use: GitLab is easy to lean and very easy to use the software as it helps in creating a project by giving instructions from the beginning. The tutorial mode is extremely helpful and because of that no experience or expertise is required to exhaust all the features offered by GitLab.

Puntos en contra

Contact Support: Although GitLab provides a good platform for its users, unfortunately, their contact section is poor. Users are unable to recover if they face any problem as the administration is limited. Administration can only be at your service if you own the premium version.

Complicated: Although Gitlab is easy to learn when it comes to the menu users tend to feel as if they are lost in some sort of maze. The menu is pretty much clunky because of this some of its users are unable to use GitLab to its full potential. Additionally, the efficiency of users is reduced to a great extent when they wish to search for aspects because it consumes time and energy.

Dennis F.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Automoción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

One stop shop for planning, development, and operations

Revisado el 12/10/2019

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.

Puntos a favor

Integration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.

Puntos en contra

Sometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.

Alternativas consideradas

Redmine

Razones para elegir GitLab

Nicer user interface, more frequent updates, larger community, more features. Helm chart deployment gets me all the things I need in my Kubernetes cluster to develop and deploy any and all web apps (or run existing ones).

Software anterior

Redmine

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

Everything in one, better user interface, open source
Lilantha R.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

GitLab Review

Revisado el 26/9/2019

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Puntos a favor

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

Puntos en contra

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Alternativas consideradas

Bitbucket y GitHub

Razones para cambiar a GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.