Microsoft Power BI

Visualización e informes de inteligencia comercial para escritorio, web o móvil.

Calificación general

4,5 /5
(1.000)
Relación calidad-precio
4,5/5
Funciones
4,4/5
Facilidad de uso
4,0/5
Asistencia al cliente
4,1/5

94%
Un ha recomendado esta aplicación
Ordenar por

Opiniones de 1000

Oscar L.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Automoción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

quaker state & power bi

Revisado el 25/3/2022

Con la aplicación móvil tenemos un panorama mas abierto y tenemos acceso a los resultados en cualquier sitio, sin duda un software muy completo para el análisis de información y muy intuitivo con el usuario, fácil de manejar y sobre todo muy interactivo para todos los usuarios que tienen acceso a los reportes.

Puntos a favor

Un software totalmente dinámico, con el cual podemos dar los resultados de la empresa, entrega de reportes, análisis de datos, KPI´s, tiempos y movimientos.
Con la app móvil es mas fácil ingresar a los resultados en cualquier sitio y estar al día.

Puntos en contra

La herramienta actualmente nos funciona bastante bien

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Petróleo y energía
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Power Bi

Revisado el 5/4/2022

Puntos a favor

Tiene muchas más funciones que Excel y es más fácil de realizar hipótesis y análisis

Puntos en contra

Es lento y la administración de datos es algo compleja

Armando I.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Servicios de información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 11-50 empleados
  • Software usado Otro durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 8.0 /10

Analisis de negocios con Plus

Revisado el 28/3/2020

Con Power BI analizamos todos nuestros datos de presupuestos y ventas obteniendo así un panorama completo sobre donde debemos profundizar el enfoque. Gracias a las herramientas descubrimos nuevas expectativas de negocios.

Puntos a favor

Power BI fue mi primera opción a la hora de realizar análisis de BigData. Estadísticas precisas con criterios definidos sobre ventas y presupuestos. Conexión con diferentes BD, desde texto plano hasta Oracle. Construccion de consultas en base a una BD unica.

Puntos en contra

En principio no se encuentra mucha documentación fácilmente. Por parte de Microsoft es posible obtener un buen soporte con licencia.

Eyerim R.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hardware informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

No es muy intuitivo

Revisado el 12/9/2021

Puntos a favor

Hay muchas características de PBI que valoro. Una de ellas es la opción de crear presentaciones visuales de forma rápido. También de poder ver resultados en cuadros, gráficas, con solo refrescar.

Puntos en contra

Esta herramienta necesita que tengas un nivel de excel intermedio al menos y de manejo de data. También requiere entrenamiento para aprender a manejarte en su interfaz.

Katherine V.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Banca
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Hace el tablero por ti

Revisado el 4/3/2022

Esta herramienta hace muy facil la elaboración de dashboard

Puntos a favor

Las presentaciones de datos son muy fáciles con esta herramienta

Puntos en contra

Nada, todo es genial y fácil de usar realmente útil

Marlyn G.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

A comprehensive data visualization platform

Revisado el 12/6/2022

With Microsoft Power BI we can create more profound and useful insights, enhance the publishing efficacy and precision of BI content, and it has a powerful in-stream real-time analytics

Puntos a favor

Microsoft Power BI is one of the most comprehensive data visualization platforms you've ever used. Power BI allows me to collect data from various sources, such as azure and SharePoint databases, it is a platform with enormous potential since it can transform data and give a better perspective, what I like about Power Bi is that it has an easy-to-use user interface without long learning curves, which makes it easy to use for new users, you can see the tables in an orderly way this facilitates data analysis, in Power BI it is safe to use, since it allows only authorized users can access, this is vital since the information that is stored is very sensitive.

Puntos en contra

What I don't like is that the desktop version consumes a lot of RAM and is sometimes slow, a computer with good specifications is required for it to run smoothly.

Ck P.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Powerful BI tool

Revisado el 20/5/2022

Puntos a favor

If you have worked with Office tools, you would grasp the basic functionality very quickly. It's very user-friendly. The power comes from a plethora of data source connectors that it provides out of the box. I am also impressed by its data visualization capabilities. It also integrates well with other Microsoft products.

Best of all - it's free for most use cases. The cloud version offers a lot more options for storage and collaboration at a modest price. It's also easy to switch between the desktop and cloud versions.

Puntos en contra

The desktop app can be sluggish at times, especially if you are dealing with large and varied data sets. Also, to utilize its more powerful features, you need to have a greater learning curve than competing products. Cloud integrations are also not very easy to configure and connections to on-prem and SaaS data sources can be challenging.

Alternativas consideradas

Domo y Tableau

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft Power BI

It's free and came bundled with our enterprise Office license.
Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Consultoría de gestión
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 2.0 /10

A pretty reporting tool for some (!) Microsoft Products, but pretty much useless outside of...

Revisado el 18/3/2017

In light of the hype around this "Tableau destroyer" in recent months, I want to highlight some fundamental flaws in data connectivity and reports maintenance of Power BI, which the Product Team so far has turned down as "not in scope". In practice, though, this renders Power BI pretty useless for getting dara from any 3rd party products, in the cloud in particular.

This review reflects Power BI as of mid March 2017. I have gathered my knowledge from testing, community interaction and a dozen tickets with Power BI Pro Support. The focus lies on getting data via Web Services, much aligned with Microsoft’s «Cloud First» Strategy.

1) Power BI Online is in the cloud, but does not allow for HTTP calls. Power BI Desktop allows for HTTP calls, but only with static authentication parameters.
First of all, a distinction needs to be made between Power BI Online and Power BI Desktop. While Power BI Online is the "master" that ultimately allows you to share and publish your reports, user experience in design is diminished by HTML limitations (you may know from Word or Excel Online) and more importantly, data connectivity (Get Data) is limited to SQL Servers on Azure and about 20 to 30 plugins from 3rd party solutions at present. Take note that on Power BI Online, you cannot select or manage your Gateways, either.

This brings the attention to the Power BI Desktop client. Updated every one to two months, the Desktop client brings data connectors necessary to connect to a larger number of data sources.
With the Web connector, HTTP calls been configured, although with just static headers and parameters and Basic and Windows authentication only. Importantly, though, Power BI Desktop includes Microsoft Power Query, which you may know from Excel 2016 already. With M Scripts, you can script and customise in many ways and most interestingly, convert it into table form quickly. This is where Power Query shines. However, Power Query does not seem to call on methods for nonces and timestamps required in token based authentication (OAuth for example). (Should this be incorrect, please please let me know. I have been browsing the fora and nagging Support too long already.)
What’s really amusing here is that Microsoft Azure uses OAuth 2.0 themselves. So, you cannot run any reporting on Microsoft’s Azure AD or Resource Manager database for example, a notorious blackbox. Back to Powershell. (Power BI does not accept Powershell feeds.)
In short, while Power BI Online does not allow to get any data out of the web (except for those 20 to 30 plugins, mostly Microsoft Products), Power BI Desktop allows for Web calls, but only with static parameters and thus, basically with your user credentials.
That’s a big limitation in Data Connectivity.

2) With Power BI Online being the master, the HTTP calls cannot be scheduled or refreshed in the cloud.

Now that you have configured your HTTP call (with risky user credentials), you want to publish your report and have it refreshed on a scheduled basis, say every day.
Tough luck.
While you can publish your Report to Power BI Online and subsequently a broader audience, it’s a static image of your Desktop data. You cannot schedule a data refresh in Power BI Online (because there is no Web feature anyway) and you cannot even refresh the data manually as this requires republishing the Report anew.
You risk your management looking at outdated data whenever you forgot to republish your report and sneak the new URL into your dashboards and iframes.

3) The On-Premises Data Gateway is pretty useless for Web Services.
Yes, there is the On-Premises Data Gateway. Yes, you can configure Web Services in the gateway, although it’s pretty ironic to route web calls via on-premises infrastructure.
But did you ever try it? That is, you cannot specify any HTTP headers fort he calls at all, lest writing a Power Query script. And thus, we are back at authentication via Basic and Windows only and writing REST scripts in the data source for every single HTTP call because with no Headers and Body, all parameters need to be coded in the URI.
Will you do that?

At the end of the day, Power BI is Microsoft's long overdue acknowledgement that Excel and some Dynamics Reports do not cut it for Reporting purposes. Indeed, for reporting on SQL Server, Dynamics 365 (if you want to afford it), and Excel and Access databases stored in your OneDrive, Microsoft Power BI does a neat job.

However, as soon as you want to integrate with 3rd party systems or via web services in particular, Power BI presents so many limitations in authentication, Header and Body configuration, scripting, and scheduling that you need to configure an entire SQL Server environment (on Azure or On-Premises via feature poor Gateway) and write a SQL CRL interface or buy Azure Data Factory to get that data in.

For some pretty reports, do you really want to buy and customise all that BI infrastructure on Azure?

My advice to Microsoft: Work on Data Connectivity, especially in Power BI Online, rather than more visuals for those limited data sources. Your Microsoft clients will consider Power BI a given for the utter lack of reporting in Office 365, Azure, or Dynamics 365 (yes, pushing it there).
My advice to Users: If the connectors are not listed, look somewhere else. (And make sure it’s your use case that is listed. Power BI announced an Azure AD connector, but rather than reporting on Users, Groups, or Enterprise Apps, you can only see on a nice map where the last logins happened.)

Is it a Tableau destroyer? No. It’s a long overdue acknowledgement for necessary reporting with the potential of being a solid Business Intelligence solution ONCE focus comes to lie more on data.

Puntos a favor

pretty visuals
Power Query
On-premises Data Gateway
responsible Pro Support

Puntos en contra

lack of data sources
pretty useless for 3rd Party Web Sources

John R.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Reporting with Power BI

Revisado el 4/4/2022

I have been working with this tool for a couple of years now, daily. It is great for the reporting, and we have created amazing reports for Management and the team in general. Very easy to explain metrics, with the reports created.

Puntos a favor

It's free version is very powerful. We can create any report we need, has a lot of data sources and even can create subscription for sending the reports automatically.

Puntos en contra

So far, the only issue I have found is when there are relation on different conditons for the same visual. It can separate and is hard to achive the result.

Alternativas consideradas

SAP Crystal Reports y SysAid

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft Power BI

It is free and very powerful. Can be connected with the main datasources.
Rajiv S.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

PowerBI review for creating Dashboard

Revisado el 17/5/2022

It provides a good option to create a dashboard and streamline data

Puntos a favor

The ease of managing data flows and creating a dashboard is the top feature.

Puntos en contra

Less availability of demos for new features.

Alternativas consideradas

Tableau

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft Power BI

Integration was very easy with other suites of MS products.
Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Logística y cadena de suministro
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 5.0 /10

Can be a good BI tool for companies already using Microsoft apps

Revisado el 17/6/2022

We used it for some time. The data visualizations and reports we were able to create were crisp and great looking. It was challenging to share to our audience though due to accessibility challenges.

Puntos a favor

It has good integration with Microsoft apps.

Puntos en contra

Microsoft PowerBI is quite expensive to roll out to a large organization. I like the pricing model the least.

Alternativas consideradas

Mode y Tableau

Razones para elegir Microsoft Power BI

We needed a proper BI tool to create reports.

Software anterior

Shiny y RStudio
Jeanette D.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Salud, bienestar y deporte
  • Tamaño de la empresa: Trabajador autónomo
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Microsoft Power BI is a useful data reporting tool

Revisado el 18/5/2022

I liked Microsoft Power BI because the statistics and data helped me understand the status of my business better.

Puntos a favor

The most impactful features were the visual charts. I could clearly see which insurance company was most represented in my office. I could also see Accounts Receivable and understand which insurance companies and third party payors were paying within 30 days, 31-60 days, or taking longer than 60 days. Knowing this information allowed me to better understand when my business was going to be reimbursed for the services we provided. It also helped me understand how to devote my time and attention to marketing.

Puntos en contra

IT was a bit cumbersome because I had to toggle between tabs or change radio buttons to isolate information.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hospital y atención sanitaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Powerful BI tool

Revisado el 19/5/2022

Puntos a favor

PowerBi is easy to use, cost effective, and does a great job interconnecting with other Microsoft products

Puntos en contra

Initial learning curve, but pretty quickly able to get it up and going.

Moustafa medhat A.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Dispositivos médicos
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante 1-5 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 7.0 /10

Microsoft Power BI Review

Revisado el 11/6/2022

My overall experience with Microsoft Power BI is fair but it has a variety of visualization tools.

Puntos a favor

I like that I can import data from different file formats, not just a specific format. I like that i have the ability to reshape and edit my data before applying any analytical tool. Also, the interface is very easy and similar to other Microsoft products so it will be easy to deal with if you have previous background with other micrsoft applications .

Puntos en contra

The collaborative tools that Microsoft Power BI offers are very limited as it is hard to manage a project with my team through it. Also, I can't benefit from windows overlapping if I want to work on several workspaces at the same time.

Malik W.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Investigación
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 4.0 /10

Microsoft PowerBI

Revisado el 24/5/2022

Puntos a favor

Helps with Business Intelligence, data visualization, and a powerful tool.

Puntos en contra

This is sometimes more complex than other tools on the market.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Propiedad inmobiliaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 2-10 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Power BI ; Affordable Data Visualization Tool

Revisado el 4/5/2021

It is an affordable software that enables us to consolidate our data, generate reports while keeping track of all the key performance indicators.

Puntos a favor

It is a good data analytics and visualization software and its ability to import data from multiples sources is a great feature.

What I like about Power BI is that from the dashboard, we are able to get a great overview of the organization including the market analysis, the status of our current deals, track the performance of each team member, view the gross income and company financials.

The ability to filter to the specific metric we are interested in is an amazing feature. It enables us to review our marketing expenses and also see how each team member's activities contribute to the bottom line. It is also easy to forecast cash inflows and outflows.
Power BI makes it possible to customize the visualizations and it also has the option to upload and view data from Excel.

Frequent upgrades from Microsoft keep Power BI functioning well.

It has both freemium and premium versions. You can try it out and have a feel of the software before you choose to purchase it.

Puntos en contra

It can be a bit complex due to the fact that it is a collection of various tools and you have to learn what each component does and how it relates to the rest of the structure.

Working with large data sets causes lags especially when on the free version. The free version has very limited features and doesn't give you the true performance capability of the software. This can however be solved by upgrading to Pro or Premium.

The user interface is a bit crowded with too many icons which hinders a clear view of the dashboard.

Virgil H.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Gestión de organizaciones sin ánimo de lucro
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado Mensualmente durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 6.0 /10

Moderate cost for a moderate experience for medium sized enterprises

Revisado el 12/2/2021

So so. The dashboards and reports are limited in visual design, so they all look the same and quite ugly. Because of the difficulty sharing reports/dashboards to external individuals and the lack of a Google sheets connector I couldn't use PowerBI for most of the solutions we need, but will use it for some since it integrates well with the rest of the MS office ecosystem.

Puntos a favor

The thing that most sets PowerBI apart from comparable business intelligence solutions is the lower cost of multi-user deployment within an organization. PowerBI is part of a Microsoft Office 365 subscription package for businesses and you only need to pay an additional 15USD/month for each additional admin/analyst account you add. This is a stark contrast to similar solutions like Tableau, which charge a monthly fee for each user and has a minimum user count that equates to roughly a 15,000USD/year license cost as minimum. If your organisation is already invested in the Microsoft Office ecosystem this could be the ideal solution for you if you need to keep costs down.

Puntos en contra

It can't connect to google sheets and every other business intelligence platform can. This can be really limiting if your business uses a variety of SaaS solutions since many offer the simplest data integration options via Google sheets.

PowerBI also has real issues with external sharing of dashboards/reports. You only have the option of publishing internally (visible to your organization's users) or publishing publically (indexed in search engines). There is no option of sharing dashboards and reports to individuals outside your organization via a login, like what is done with Google Data Studio.

PowerBI also has a steep learning curve and uses 3 coding languages (DAX, M, and SQL). It's more complicated than it needs to be but it's relational database modeling has proven a good one and competitors have copied PowerBI's approach in recent years (Tableau).

Alternativas consideradas

Tableau y Google Data Studio

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft Power BI

For the unique cases where I will use it, I'm chosing it because it is part of the MS office ecosystem which my organization uses and it will be easier to deploy and share products with colleagues who all build in PowerBI also. I won't use PowerBI exclusively though since it can't do everything I need.
Robert G.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Construcción
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Enterprise Analytics - with some gotchas

Revisado el 26/1/2021

We're using this as our enterprise analytics platform to supplement paginated reports in SSRS/PBIRS. Aside from the wrinkles mentioned, it's been a solid performer. If there was a little more "admin" capabilities around subscriptions and permissions, it'd be a home run.

Puntos a favor

Near-constant updates and feature additions. It's exceptionally easy to throw together a Power BI Report across a bunch of different data sources and then share it with 1 or 100 people. Tons of connectivity support - if you have data somewhere it can *probably* read it into a model for consumption. The "front end" development is pretty straightforward with the ability to get very fancy with custom visuals - although you need to be a real developer to build those yourself.

Puntos en contra

It feels like there are some (currently) missing enterprise features. We still haven't really figured out a holistic way of managing both the enterprise stuff, as well as the "power user" self service stuff that gets published around the org. To Microsoft's credit, there are pretty much monthly releases that add ne functionality and features. Some things I'd like to see include more API support and additional sources like Box, perhaps.

Prabhu S.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Tecnología y servicios de la información
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 10.000+ empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Simple and highly customizable

Revisado el 8/8/2020

1. Dax query is highly reliable when comes to slice and dice the granular level data based on time trend.
2. Embedded report and dashboard in any kind of business applications easily and it becomes part of it.

Puntos a favor

1. Free desktop tool for development(Power BI Desktop) and simple installation process.
2. Almost, we can connect many source to fetch the data. Ex csv,web,excel,sql,odbc etc..,
3. Specialized ETL(Extract,transform,load) to clean the raw unstructured data into structured data with help of Power Query.
4. Powerful DAX query to customized measure and calculated column to get desirable business metrics and KPIs.
5. Top standard visuals, Custom visuals(visual market) and also we can create our own visuals using reactjs.
6. Publish in cloud(azure) to view report anywhere in the world with help Power BI service.
7. High availability and low latency to view report and dashboard with help of xVelocity engine.
8. Anyone can easily create basic charts with structured data.

Puntos en contra

1. Power BI Desktop consumes a huge amount of resource in system.
2. Service monitoring increases for larger report consumers.
3. While dealing with an enormous volume of data, constant optimization takes place.

Alternativas consideradas

Qlik Sense y Tableau

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft Power BI

I have also worked in tableau and Qlik sense even though they are in the market for longer time and provide more feature than Power BI . But still they are very costly and difficult for newbies to access the software.,
Deepak F.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 51-200 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

The visualization and analytics product that is constantly evolving - for the better

Revisado el 7/2/2020

With Power BI we identify patterns, issues and opportunities in sales, marketing, operations, supply chain, people management and finance data. The ways to look at the data and the drilling capabilities make this a wonderful tool

Puntos a favor

1. Improves with new releases every two weeks
2. Powerful insight management
3. Integration with MS products
4. Online forums and learning zones

Puntos en contra

1. Not as intuitive as packaged applications, but getting there
2. Not a good IDE for Python / R
3. Connectors to social media need to be improved

Alternativas consideradas

Domo y Tableau

Razones para elegir Microsoft Power BI

Power BI is evolving faster and with better options and integration

Software anterior

TIBCO Spotfire

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft Power BI

Deeper integration with Microsoft tools online and offline.
Jerry A.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Gestión de organizaciones sin ánimo de lucro
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 201-500 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Very robust, though a little overwhelming

Revisado el 10/12/2019

We're moving from having staff creating Excel reports or Access database reports to having Power BI do it all for us. We spend some time cleaning up the user's data, streamlining how they enter it (and where - we still use Access, some SQL, some Sharepoint), and Power BI does the rest after that. Our staff loves that they no longer have to manually create reports, and they love the way Power BI looks for them. We are enjoying it overall.

Puntos a favor

The dashboard creation is amazing. Give it a data source, design how you want to see your data, and it shows it to you. I enjoy creating dashboards for our different departments. And once our staff sees the reports and dashboards they get from this, vs how they used to get it in an Excel spreadsheet or an Access Report, they are hooked.

Puntos en contra

Overwhelming in the back end. Sometimes you just cannot get the data to display the way you want. There are so many options, features, methods. It gets overwhelming. My biggest gripe is that the back end is not as user friendly as other programs. And, comparing it to something that one of my users would create in Excel, it's difficult for me to get the exact data reported that they want. I have to figure out how to display it, and because the Power Bi is just so robust, it's a little overwhelming in that respect.

Usuario verificado
Calificación general
  • Sector: Banca
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

It brings the power of BI down to non-tech users

Revisado el 26/8/2019

My job is to collect and process all sorts of data in my organization and present them to the highest management committee for policy level decision making. We are heavily dependent on MS Excel for this. I handle excel worksheets with thousands of entries every day. A year ago, I tried Power BI to see whether it can help me in my job or not. And i am hooked till now. I am most impressed with the processing power of Power BI. Huge worksheets can be processed very fast using Power BI. It also updates the reports automatically which improves my productivity significantly.

Puntos a favor

1. Ease of Use: Unlike other BI software’s, Power BI's interface is friendlier especially to MS Excel users. You will not feel overwhelmed rather it will look familiar.
2. Powerful engine: Users who need to tackle very large datasets with thousands of entries know that MS excel gets horribly slow processing such a large file. Power BI is a God sent for these users. Its processing engine is super-fast and the speed is more noticeable when you let it handle such large datasets.
3. Excellent data presentation tools: For regular MS Excel users Power BI is a PowerPivot on steroid but a lot smarter one. Even those users who are not familiar with the complexities of PowerPivot feels less intimidated by its simple and user friendly design.
4. User friendly but powerful DAX language: To write formulas you have to use DAX language in Power BI which in my opinion is a fancy name of just natural language formula writing. However, DAX is super easy to learn and pretty much intuitive but at the same time very much powerful.
5. Schedule refresh option: Power BI has an option to auto update the report at fixed interval of time which is very helpful if you need to prepare and submit reports weekly or monthly.
6. Option to control users of the report: In Power BI you can share your reports with other users and also control how much of the report can they see. If you want you can allow only a part of the report to be seen by some user which is super convenient.

Puntos en contra

Honestly, in my opinion, Power BI is by far the best software made by Microsoft. But considering I am a heavy user of MS Excel, it is easier to me. I think learning curve of Power BI for a beginner with no prior skill in MS Excel will be a bit steep. Then again, BI is a complex thing itself. So master any kind of BI software will be tricky by its own merit.

Rajiv H.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Relaciones públicas y comunicaciones
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 1.001-5.000 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante 6-12 meses
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

Power BI is one of the most user friendly BI software for adding visual representation and...

Revisado el 22/9/2017

Overall good software for beginners and can be explored to get the best efficiency from the software

Puntos a favor

below are a few pros
• Sharing dashboard in a group
a. Sharing can be done once you have the Pro version of Power BI. Dashboard can be shared with the respective department members or your own team members.
b. Since you have prepared the dashboard you will be the owner and you can decide whether you want to give the other members only viewing rights or editing rights as well.
c. With this feature reports will always be on the cloud server and can be viewed as and when required
d. Reports can be downloaded as and when required.
• Viewing dashboard in Mobile/ tab and preparing phone layout
a. Once a dashboard has been prepared and saved, the same can be accessed on Power BI App with the same login.
b. Since the screen is small compared to laptop, all the dashboard elements can be redesigned to suit the phone screen.
c. The other features remain the same and the dashboard is interactive on the phone as well however it cannot be edited on phone.
• Export dashboard to PowerPoint, PDF
a. This is one of the most important features of Power BI. Reports or dashboards prepared can be exported on PowerPoint or PDF with a click of a button.
b. Hence Management reports and department reports can be automated on Power BI and once you refresh the data, the report will be ready to share.
c. One problem is that few images which are not compatible with PowerPoint don’t show post downloading.
• Narratives for dashboard
a. This is one of the recent features offered by Power BI. With the help of narratives you can get the insight of the dashboard in a story form.
b. Narrative uses its intelligence to study the data and give output in pointers, paragraphs etc which can be customised.
• Importing visuals to suit your need
a. Apart from the general visualizations available in Power BI, there are additional visualizations released by Power BI from time to time. These visualizations enhance the visual appearance as well as the adds to further analytics in different ways.
b. Visualizations which have downloaded and used in the dashboard are Infographic designer, Narratives for Business Intelligence, KPI Column chart, and Timeline.
• Edit interactions in dashboard
a. It is important to understand the interactions and groupings in power BI since with the help of these you can control which graphs you want to automatically change by clicking on the other.
b. With the help of grouping you can define groups and sub group which can be viewed together as a group if required.
• KPI Column Chart
a. This is a recent custom visual developed by Power BI. With the help of this visual you can put the KPI target against the actual on a monthly basis.
b. Forecasted revenue/ cost can also be put in this visual which will be shown in different colour.
c. Individual monthly targets can also be put which can be interchanged by putting variance.
d. Data can also been viewed in a table form along with graphical.

Puntos en contra

• One of the important features of exporting report in PowerPoint does not allow custom visual to be exported. Hence if there are custom visuals in your report then the same will show error once exported.
• Arranging dashboard is a bit tedious and takes a lot of time
• To share reports, we need to publish to MS Cloud. We cannot share report from Power BI Desktop
• For sharing a report even members to who report needs to be shared have to get Power BI Pro. Since the department to whom report is shared is just to view giving them a Pro license might not be useful.

Sri H.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Hospital y atención sanitaria
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 5.001-10.000 empleados
  • Software usado Semanalmente durante Más de dos años
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 9.0 /10

Really good for aggregating data from multiple sources

Revisado el 15/1/2020

Power BI has helped us go from random spreadsheet reports to consolidated dashboards that are pleasing to look at and easy to interpret.

Puntos a favor

The interface is beautiful and easy to navigate. Once data sources are all connected, it's pretty easy to create a new dashboard/layout if you know how to analyze your own data. Nearly every integration that we needed was already included.

Puntos en contra

It's hard to build some more complex reports. If you want to combine two different data sources into one view/metric, you will need some advanced skills.

Alternativas consideradas

Sisense y Tableau

Razones para elegir Microsoft Power BI

We switched from our basic Excel reports because they weren't very good, they were hard to update, and they didn't include a lot of useful information on each screen.

Software anterior

Microsoft Excel

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft Power BI

We are fairly well integrated into the Microsoft ecosystem and Power BI integrates well with the other tools we use. It offered the best balance of features, maturity, and value for our needs.
Utkarsh B.
Calificación general
  • Sector: Software informático
  • Tamaño de la empresa: 501-1.000 empleados
  • Software usado A diario durante Más de un año
  • Fuente de la reseña

Calificación general

  • Relación calidad-precio
  • Facilidad de uso
  • Asistencia al cliente
  • Probabilidad de recomendación 10.0 /10

How Powerful is Power BI ?

Revisado el 3/6/2021

I am a Power BI Developer and have delivered many dashboards to the client in Power BI. Its Better than other Products. Its Save my lot of time by using Power BI various features. From Importing the Data to Publishing ,Its a easier platform I would suggest you to use. It contains the most trending Visuals in the market that a every developer wants.

Puntos a favor

1)Its Easy to use, Provides a Reliable user interface .
2)Its Time efficient as most of the work Power BI does it even before you know.
3)Integration to the third party visuals and creating its own market place have already took it way further than other products.
4)A User can customize its design and can easily give the dashboard access to the public.
5)It contains the most trending Visuals in the market.

Puntos en contra

1)Software is reliable on Latest Machines.
2)Old machines then need to be upgraded(OS, RAM) to use this software smoothly.
3) Multiple Dashboards can hang the entire system.

Alternativas consideradas

Tableau

Razones para cambiar a Microsoft Power BI

Its Integration among other Microsoft Products . Easier to Clean the Data and create beautiful Visuals in matter of time. Gets Published and can also export to website without throwing any error. Its a great Platform!